Politics: Fubara, Cole, Abe, ex-militant leader, Lulu-Briggs, George, 11 others battle for Rivers Gov poll Daily Parrot

Rivers states

The governorship candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Siminialaye Fubara; All Progressives Congress (APC) and 15 others have been cleared by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to contest the 2023 governorship election in Rivers State.

Senator Magnus Abe, who hails from Ogoniland, was also listed as the Social Democratic Party (SDP) candidate for the election.

Abe, who left the APC for SDP principally to fly the party’s governorship flag, had declared his intentions to campaign for the Presidential Candidate of the APC, Asiwaju Ahmed Bola Tinubu.

Dumo Lulu Briggs, a billionaire oil magnate, was also included in the list published by INEC as the candidate of the Accord Party.

Dawari George, a former APC chieftain and erstwhile loyalist of the immediate past Transport Minister, Chibuike Amaechi, was listed as the candidate of the Action Alliance.

Others are AAC Dada Obele Joseph; ADC Ibraye Tonye; ADP, Fingesi Tame; APGA, Beke Prince; APM, Whyte Churchill; APP, Gborogbosi Gabriel; and BP Iyagba Tekena.

The chairperson of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) in the state, Itubo Beatrice was listed as the governorship candidate of the Labour Party with Agwo Ndubuisi recognised as the NNPP candidate.

A former ex-militant Leader, Jackrich Sobomabo, also made the list as the candidate of the NRM; Wenike-Briggs Danagogo was named the YPP candidate while Kwanee Leyii was for ZLP.

While all of them were published alongside their running mates, Itubo was the only female governorship candidate in the race.

The deputy governorship candidates for the parties are Accord, Dedam Tambari; AA, Ronnie Ibebulachi; AAC, West Ivy; ADC, Dike Charity; ADP, Ekiye Belief; APC, Barikor Variate; APGA, Jumbo Omuso; APM, Yanwi Obaruma; APP, Ekine Tonye and BP, Media Ntormabari.

Others are LP, Sam Barikpoa; NNPP, Isokariari Johnson; NRM, Nwikpo Torkia; PDP, ODU Ngozi; SDP, Ogbonnaya Wudhiga; YPP, Orduwa Helena and ZLP, Jack Brassba.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *